Unconfirmed Minutes of NZNO Nurse Managers NZ Annual General Meeting

Friday 9th November 2018

1145 am

East Pier Hotel, 50 Nelson Quay, Napier

1. Introduction and welcome

Chaired by Sarah Tweedale. Sarah warmly welcomed Nurse Managers NZ section members.

2. Apologies

Raewyn Hughes (Palmerston North)

Present

49 were present (26 members for quorum reached)

Lil Dinneen, Margaret Porter, Natasha Ashworth, Shamim Chagani, Teresa Fisher, Itayi Mapanda, Debbie O'Donoghue, Jeni Palmer, Monique Toes-Rouse, Sarah Tweedale, Rachel Comtpon (nee Bolland), Sue Cooper, Sharon Crowe, Cheryl Hammond, Brigette Kemp, Antony Kuruvila, Jan Malcolm, Paula Olsen, Delia Pombo, Kris, Ancog, Melanie Bruce, Tracey McCarrey, Flo Pollard, Linda Attwood, Pam Birchfield, Andrea Bond, Misty Campbell, Juliet Conway, Maxine Farramond, Angela Gillman, Cathy Gilmore, Jocelyn Go, Nelly Hoffman, Gaye Kyne, Kelly Lane, Claudia Mercier, Gemma Prescott, Rona Ramage, Gabrielle Redmond, Gill Robertson, Rosie Rosewarne, Nicola Ryniker-Doull, Joanne Sills, Melanie Terry, Ivy Zhang, Pam Winfield, Deb Mason, Anne Gray, Sonia Smith. Grant Brookes was present as an observer.

3. Confirmation of previous minutes from AGM 2017: Sarah Tweedale

The minutes were taken as read by all members. No correction or amendments required.

It was moved that the minutes of the NZNO Nurse Manager's (NZ) 2017 AGM are accepted as the official record of the meeting.

Mover: Pamela Winfield Seconder: Delia Pombo

Voted abstaining – nil, against nil, for – unanimous

Carried.

4. Chairpersons Report: Sarah Tweedale

Sarah spoke to the report and reflected on the numerous challenges and achievements this past year.

Challenges included having only 6 committee members instead of 8 (personal reasons leading to early resignations.

Natasha Unsworth (Hawke's Bay) and Debbie O'Donoghue (Christchurch) were seconded during the year to fill these positions.

Achievements include allocation and distribution of grants to our membership for professional Nurse Manager development, revamping the newsletter Te Wheke where member's contributions in the form of articles are always welcome, and launching of Face book page. 2019 will see the Committee launch the Coaching and Mentoring pilot programme as continuation of this year's groundwork with vision to harness wisdom.

Sarah also thanked the Conference organising Committee for delivering an excellent conference in all facets, with speaker calibre, location and attention to detail. Our annual conferences are continuing to improve every year. Counties Manukau will organise the Auckland 2019 conference.

As outgoing committee members, Monique Toes-Rouse and Itayi Mapanda were thanked for their contribution to the committee.

Sarah Tweedale asked the Chairpersons Report be received and taken as read.

Moved: Jeni Palmer Seconder: Marg Porter

Voted abstaining - nil, against - nil, for - unanimous

Carried.

5. Financial Report: Sarah Tweedale on behalf of Teresa Fisher

The financial report, passed by auditors, was taken as read.

Committee trying not to stockpile money however has obligations to underwrite conferences etc. The Committee has increased the grants, will now hold 2 Education Forums each year, and fund the coaching and mentoring pilot.

Internet banking is working well. Committee will seek financial advice to improve the interest rates in 2019.

Moved that the annual accounts be received.

Mover: Cheryl Hammond Seconder: Shamim Chagani

Voted: abstaining – nil, against – nil, for – unanimous

Carried.

6. Membership Report: Sarah Tweedale on behalf of Jeni Palmer

The membership report was taken as read

Committee looking to increase profile in Aged Care Facilities and Sarah asked members to actively promote drive.

Successful Remit last year ensures members now able to belong to up to 3 sections.

It was moved that the membership report be received.

Mover: Gill Robertson

Seconder: Tracey McCarrey

Vote: Abstaining - nil, Against - nil, For - unanimous

Carried.

7. NZNO Professional Nurse Advisor Report: Wendy Blair PNA

Wendy spoke to the report.

Wendy thanked whole NZNO Nurse Manager Committee for their contribution and Sarah thanked Wendy for PNA support.

Wendy also thanked Tracey McCarrey and her team for organising this year's successful conference.

It was moved that the Professional Nurse Advisor Report be received.

Mover: Teresa Fisher

Seconder: Natasha Unsworth

Vote: abstaining –nil, Against- nil, For – unanimous

Carried.

8. National Committee Nominations: Sarah Tweedale

Natasha Ashworth and Debbie O'Donoghue were seconded onto the NZNO Nurse Manager Committee earlier this year.

Two vacancies remaining due to Monique Toes-Rouse and Itayi Mapanda completing their 2x2 terms.

Two Nominations received by due date for Tracey McCarrey (Hawke's bay) nominated by Teresa Fisher, and Rosie Rosewarne (Wanganui) nominated by Itayi Mapanda, with a further nomination for Maxine Farrimond (Auckland) nominated by Ann Bray during the AGM.

3

Voting ensued with members electing, Rosie Rosewarne and Tracey McCarrey onto the NZNO Nurse manager Committee. Congratulations to both. Votes were counted by Wendy Blair and Paul Matthews from NZNO.

9. **General Business:** Sarah Tweedale

No one from the floor raised any further business.

2019 NZNO Nurse Managers NZ conference will be held in Auckland.

NZNO Nurse Manager Committee looking at members to put up their hands for 2020.

Next NZNO Nurse Managers New Zealand AGM Thursday $\mathbf{7}^{\text{th}}$ November 2019 in Auckland

Meeting declared closed at 1215hrs