National NICU/ SCBU units

To update these details, please send information to NNCA Administrator,
Sally Chapman sally.chapman@nzno.org.nz

Units


Whangarei

Special Care Baby Unit (SCBU)
PO Box 742, Whangarei (Updated April 2018)

  • Level 2 - 8 cots
  • Yearly admissions 267
  • Air and Road Transport Team

NICU Medical Director:
Dr. David Barker

Clinical Nurse Manager: 
Jules Dewhurst  julesdewhurst@northlanddhb.org.nz
021463958

Associate Clinical Nurse Manager/ Clinical Nurse Educator:
Merophy Brown - merophy.brown@northlanddhb.org.nz
021 870 422

 

Back to top

North Shore Hospital, Waitemata DHB

North Shore Newborn Special Care Unit
Private Bag 93503, Shakespeare Road, Takapuna, North Shore (Updated March 2018)

  • Level 2 - 12 cots
  • Yearly admissions 350

NICU Medical Advisor:
Chris Peterson - christopher.peterson@waitematadhb.govt.nz

Charge Nurse Manager:
Sarah Timmis - sarah.timmis@waitematadhb.govt.nz

Clinical Nurse Educator:
Kerryn Shaw - kerryn.shaw@waitematadhb.govt.nz
021 243 9528

Nurse Specialist:
Annette Murphy - annette.murphy@Waitematadhb.govt.nz

Back to top

Waitakere, Waitemata DHB

Special Care Baby Unit
55 Lincoln Road, Henderson, Auckland 0610

Updated March 2018

  • Level 2, 12 cots
  •  Yearly admissions 350

Charge Nurse Manager:
Debbie Daniel - debbie.daniel@waitematadhb.govt.nz

Clinical Nurse Educator:
Kerryn Shaw - kerryn.shaw@waitematadhb.govt.nz 
021 243 9528

Back to top

Auckland City Hospital - Starship Child Health - Auckland

Newborn Intensive Care Unit
Auckland City Hospital, 2 Park Road, Grafton, Auckland (Updated March 2018)

  • Level 2 - 30 cots
  • Level 3 - 18 cots
  • 1,000 annual admissions
  • 40 resourced bedspaces
  • Flight and retrieval team
  • Newborn Homecare Team

NICU Medical Director:
Mariam Buksh - mariamb@adhb.govt.nz

Nurse Unit Manager:
Dale Garton - dgarton@adhb.govt.nz
021 938 869

Clinical Charge Nurses:

  • Jonette Abou-Rabiah,
  • Sue McKnight,
  • Shirley Wilson,
  • Robin Gardner,
  • Angela Warren
  • Michelle Willows

021 874 779

Equipment portfolio:
Sue McKnight

Flight and Retrieval Transport Portfolio:
Shirley Wilson

Nursing Educators:
Claire Annan
021 245 364

Roslyn Gasparini
021 245 2372

Nurse Specialist - Lactation:
Lynley Nichols
021 475 059

Sarah Wild
021 814 135

Nurse Specialist Family Liaison:
Adele Jay
021 245 5615

Tamara Nickerson
021 245 3626

Nurse Specialist, Neonatal Homecare:
Marion Jones
021 492 167

Robin Wilkinson 
021 492 168

Nurse Specialist - Advanced Neonatal Practice:

  • Megan Ashton,
  • Julie Dick,
  • Michelle Hatton,
  • Leigh McCarthy, 
  • Amy Lewis

Nurse Specialist - Intern Newborn

  • Rosina Ho
  • Kate Jones


Contact via NICU reception 24920

Back to top

Middlemore Hospital Neonatal Unit, Counties Manukau District Health Board

Kids First Neonatal Care, Counties Manukau Health
Private Bag 93311, Otahuhu, Auckland (Updated March 2018)

  • 16 Intesive care beds
  • 20 Special care beds

NICU Clinical Leader:
Lindsay Mildenhall - lindsaym@middlemore.co.nz

Nurse Manager:
Karen Boyle - karen.boyle@middlemore.co.nz

Nurse Educator: 
Julie I'Anson - julie.ianson@middlemore.co.nz

Back to top

Waikato Hospital, Waikato DHB

Waikids Newborn Intensive Care Unit
Pembroke Street, Private Bag, Hamilton (Updated March 2018)

  • Level 1 - 12 cots
  • Level 2 - 12 cots
  • Level 3 - 17
  • 800-1,000 Yearly admissions
  • 41 Resourced bedspaces

NICU Medical Director: Jutta van den Boom
jutta.vandenboom@waikatodhb.health.nz

Charge Nurse Manager:
Chantelle Hill - chantelle.hill@waikatodhb.health.nz
021 241 5517

Associate Charge Nurses Managers contact:
Level 3 mobile - 021 240 8955
Level 1 & 2 mobile - 021 701 634

Nursing Educators: 
Leanne Baker - leanne.baker@waikatodhb.health.nz
On career break - No replacement yet
021 759 542

Kelly Ashton - kelly.ashton@waikatodhb.health.nz
0212437704

Transport Coordinator:

Richard Pagdanganan - richardsacharychad.pagdanganan@waikatodhb.health.nz

Lactation Consultant:

Robyn Hillls - robyn.hills@waikatodhb.health.nz
021 242 8719

Alana Cumberpatch - Alana.Cumberpatch@waikatoDHB.health.nz

Eqiupment Nurse/Technician:
Mike Haultain - michael.haultain@waikatodhb.health.nz
021 227 3951

Discharge Facilitator:
Melanie Trethowen - melanie.trethowen@waikatodhb.health.nz 
021 910 594

Homecare CNS:
Tracey Thompson - tracey.thompson@waikatodhb.health.nz
Cathy Dollimore - catherine.dollimore@waikatodhb.health.nz
021 929 896

Back to top

Tauranga Hospital

Special Care Baby Unit (SCBU)
Bay of Plenty District Health Board, Cameron Road, Tauranga (Updated Oct 2021)

  • Level 2 - 12 cots
  • 375-400 annual admissions
  • Neonatal Homecare Nurse

SBCU Medical Director:
Justin Wilde - justin.wilde@bopdhb.govt.nz

SCBU Clinical Nurse Manager:
Vikki Baker - vikki.baker@bopdhb.govt.nz

SCBU Clinical Nurse Coordinator:

Loretto O'Brien - loretto.obrien@bopdhb.govt.nz

Back to top

Rotorua Hospital

Special Care Baby Unit
Lakes District Health Board, Private Bag 3023, Rotorua (Updated February 2018)

  • Level 2 - 8 cots
  • 250 Yearly admissions
  • 8 Resourced bedspaces

NICU Medical Directors:
Stephen Bradley - stephen.bradley@lakesdhb.govt.nz

Charge Nurse Manager:
Nancy Littler - nancy.littler@lakesdhb.govt.nz
027 667 8887

Neonatal Nurse Practitioner:
Rose Batchelor - rose.batchelor@lakesdhb.govt.nz
027 615 8317

Lactation Consultant:
Sue Pace - sue.wells@lakesdhb.govt.nz

Back to top

Whakatane

Special Care Baby Unit
Stewart Street, Whakatane

Updated Oct 2021

  • Level 2: 4 cots
  • 100 annual admissions

SBCU Medical Director:
Justin Wilde - justin.wilde@bopdhb.govt.nz

SCBU Clinical Nurse Manager:
Vikki Baker - vikki.baker@bopdhb.govt.nz

SCBU Clinical Nurse Coordinator:
Elizabeth Paul - elizabeth.paul@bopdhb.govt.nz

Return to top

Gisborne Hospital

Neonatal Unit
Tairawhiti District Health, 421 Ormond Road, Private Bag 7001, Gisborne (Updated March 2018)

  • Level 2 - 6 cots
  • 170-180 annual admissions
  • 3 Resourced bedspaces

NICU Medical Director:
Shaun Grant - shaun.grant@tdh.org.nz

Acting Clinical Nurse Manager:
Jenelle Sheridan - jenelle.sheridan@tdh.org.nz

Back to top

Hawkes Bay Hospital

Special Care Baby Unit
Hawkes Bay Health Care, Private Bag 9014, Hastings (Updated March 2018)

  • Level 2 - 10 cots
  • Level 3 - 2 cots
  • 340 Annual admissions
  • 12 Resourced bedspaces

NICU Medical Director:
Oliver Grupp - oliver.grupp@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz

Charge Nurse Manager:
Michelle Robertson - michelle.robertson@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz

Associate Charge Nurse Manager:
Dianne O'Connor - dianne.oconnor@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz

Back to top

Taranaki Base Hospital

Neonatal Unit
Taranaki Base Hospital, Private Bag 2016, New Plymouth (Updated March 2018)

Level 2A Unit

  • Level 2 - 6 cots
  • Level 3 - 2 cots (High dependency, eg: short term ventilator)
  • 300 Annual Admissions

NICU Medical Director:
John Doran - john.doran@tdhb.org.nz

Head of Department:
Richard Smiley - richard.smiley@tdhb.org.nz

Clinical Nurse Manager:
Abi Webber - abigail.webber@tdhb.org.nz      

Homecare Nurse:
Cheryl Sole - cheryl.sole@tdhb.org.nz

Back to top

Palmerston North Hospital, Mid-Central Health

Neonatal Unit 
Private Bag 11036, Palmerston North (Updated April 2018)

  • Level 2 - 12 cots
  • Level 2A - 5 cots
  • 14 Resourced bedspaces
  • 500 Yearly admissions
  • Homecare

NICU Medical Director:
Nicola (Nicky) Pereira nicola.pereira@midcentraldhb.govt.nz

Charge Nurse: 
Melissa Woodd - Melissa.Woodd@midcentraldhb.govt.nz

Nursing Educator: 

 

Lactation Consultant:
Louise Wedgewood - louise.wedgwood@midcentraldhb.govt.nz

Back to top

Wanganui Base Hospital, Wanganui District Health Board

Special Care Baby Unit
Wanganui District Health Board, Heads Road, Private Bag, Wanganui (Updated March 2018)

  • Level 2 - 4 cots
  • Yearly admissions - 150

NICU Medical Director:
David Montgomery - david@millipaed.co.nz

Clinical Nurse Manager:
Marama Cameron - Marama.Cameron@wdhb.org.nz 

Lactation Consultant:
Margaret Colway - margaret.colway@wdhb.org.nz  
Kim Mawston - kim.mawston@wdhb.org.nz

Back to top

Wairarapa Hospital

Special Care Baby Unit
96 Te Ore Ore Rd, PO Box 96, Masterton (Updated March 2018)

  • Level 1 - 3 cots, up to level 2
  • 2 Resourced bedspaces
  • Homecare support    

Charge Nurse Manager:
Tess Geard - tess.geard@wairarapa.dhb.org.nz

Lactation Consultant:
Julie Foley - julie.foley@wairarapa.dhb.govt.nz

Back to top

Wellington Hospital

Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
Capital Coast DHB, Private Bag 7902, Wellington South

Updated April 2018

  • Level 3: 18 cots
  • Level 2: 22 cots
  • Air Transport Team
  • Homecare team
  • Specialty Practice Nursing program
  • Post Grad. Cert – NN VU
  • Career Pathway Available

NICU Medical Director
Vaughan Richardson - Vaughan.Richardson@ccdhb.org.nz

Neonatal Unit Team Leader
Rosemary Escott - Rosemary.escott@ccdhb.org.nz

Associate Charge Nurse Managers

  • Deborah Davenport;
  • Cheryl Wilkie;
  • Cynthia Evans;
  • Sandra Worthington;
  • Evelyn Mahapure;
  • Claire Goodger;
  • Philippa Hayne

Email contact: firstname.surname@ccdhb.org.nz
Phone: 04 806 0802

Neonatal Nurse Practitioner/Specialists

  • Darcy Stott;
  • Fiona Dineen;
  • Karen Bennington;
  • Paula Dellabarca,
  • Janet Black

Email contact: firstname.surname@ccdhb.org.nz

Clinical Nurse Specialists

  • Marilyn Gibson;
  • Jackie Chin-Poy

Email contact: firstname.surname@ccdhb.org.nz

Nursing Educators

  • Sandra Bryant (Senior);
  • Carol Gibson (Level 3),
  • Sarah Gillon (New staff and students)

Email Contact: firstname.surname@ccdhb.org.nz

Transport Coordinator
Sarah Cody - Sarah.cody@ccdhb.org.nz

Lactation Consultant:
Georgina Wilson - Georgina.Wilson@ccdhb.org.nz

Home Care Team

  • Carole Dunn;
  • Helsa Fairless;
  • Kezia Schroyen

Email contact: firstname.surname@ccdhb.org.nz

Back to top

Hutt Valley Health Corporation Ltd

Special Care Baby Unit
Hutt Valley Health, High Street, Private Bag 31907, Lower Hutt (Updated March 2018)

  • 12 level II cots
  • 450 yearly admissions
  • Homecare team

NICU Medical Director:
Sarah Mills - sarah.mills@huttvalleydhb.org.nz 

Charge Nurse Manager:
Sagni Prasad - sagni.prasad@huttvalleydhb.org.nz

Associate Clinical Nurse Manager:
Rebecca Abbotts - rebecca.abbotts@huttvalleydhb.org.nz

Nurse Educator:
Jenny Stott - jenny.stott@huttvalleydhb.org.nz

Back to top

Nelson Hospital

SCBU
Nelson/Marlborough Health, Private Bag 18, Nelson (Updated March 2018)

  • Level 2 - 10 cots
  • 200+ yearly admissions
  • 10 resourced bedspaces
  • Homecare nurse

NICU Medical Director:
Peter McIlroy - peter.mcIlroy@nmhs.govt.nz

Charge Nurse Manager: 
Jan Kirk - jan.kirk@nmhs.govt.nz
Note: there is no Associate Charge Nurse Manager

Nurse Educator:
Maree Arps - maree.arps@nmhs.govt.nz

Lactation Consultant:
Debra Hardcastle - debra.hardcastle@nmhs.govt.nz

Back to top

Grey Base Hospital

McBrearty Ward
Coast Health Care, Greymouth, West Coast

Updated May 2010

  • 2 level I cots
  • combined with Maternity Care (and providing support to Westport Hospital)

Nurse Manager
Jude Bruce

Back to top

Christchurch Women’s Hospital, Canterbury DHB

Neonatal Intensive Care Unit 
Women’s and Children’s Health Division, Private Bag 4711, Christchurch (Updated April 2018)

  • Level 3: 11 cots
  • Level 2: 30 cots
  • Yearly admissions 900+
  • Nursing Discharge and Outreach Service
  • Air and land retrieval team
  • Human milk bank

NICU Medical Director: :
Nicola Austin - nicola.austin@cdhb.health.nz

Neonatal Nurse Manager:
Debbie O’Donoghue - debbie.odonoghue@cdhb.health.nz

Neonatal Nurse Educator:
Edna Byron - edna.byron2@cdhb.govt.nz

Clinical Nurse Specialist:
Gina Beecroft - gina.beecroft@cdhb.govt.nz

Associate Clinical Nursing Managers

  • Bernard Hutchinson,
  • Sue Moore,
  • Jenny Rooney,
  • Rachel Dunlop,
  • Kaylene Ellerm,
  • Jenny Lilley,
  • Carol Constanti

ACNMneonatal@cdhb.health.nz

Nurse Practitioner/ Clinical Nurse Specialist (Advance Neonatal Practice)

  • Anne Jackson,
  • Tracey Green,
  • Serena Bayles,
  • Petra Boyd,
  • Kelly Donovan

firstname.lastname@cdhb.health.nz

Clinical Nurse Specialist, Infant Feeding Specialist
Hazel McGregor - Hazel.McGregor@cdhb.govt.nz

Transport Coordinator:
Sue Moore - sue.moore@cdhb.govt.nz

Milk Bank Manager:
Anthea Franks - anthea.franks@cdhb.govt.nz

Back to top

Timaru Hospital, South Canterbury District Health Board

Private Bag 911, Timaru

Updated March 2018

  • 2 level II cots 
  • Yearly admissions 60

NICU Medical Director:
Dr Mick Goodwin - MGoodwin@scdhb.heath.nz

Nurse Manager: 
Mark Liddy - paed@scdhb.health.nz 

Back to top

Dunedin Hospital, Southern District Health Board

Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
Private Bag 1921, 201 Great King Street, Dunedin - Office: 03 474 0999 ext 59770 (Updated March 2018)

  • Level 2 - 11 cots
  • Level 3 - 5 cots
  • Approx 350 annual admissions
  • 16 resourced bedspaces
  • Air/Road Retrieval and Transfer Transport team

NICU Medical Director:
Dr Liza Edmonds - liza.edmonds@southerndhb.govt.nz

Charge Nurse Manager:
Juliet Manning - juliet.manning@southerndhb.govt.nz

Associate Charge Nurse Managers:
Mary Fahey:  mary.fahey@southerndhb.govt.nz
Karen Thomson:  karen.thomson@southerndhb.govt.nz
Jo Dobson:  jo.dobson@southerndhb.govt.nz

Nurse Educator:
Janelle Tangney - janelle.tangney@southerndhb.govt.nz

Transport Coordinator:
Jo Dobson - jo.dobson@southerndhb.govt.nz

Equipment Nurse:  
Annie Marshall - annie.marshall@southerndhb.govt.nz

Outreach Nurses:
Rose Bryant: - rose.bryant@southerndhb.govt.nz
Cathy Phillips: - cathy.phillips@southerndhb.govt.nz

Back to top


Southland Hospital

Neonatal Unit
Southern Health, PO Box 828, Invercargill (Updated September 2015)

  • Level 2, 6 cots

NICU Medical Director:
Ian Shaw - ian.shaw@southerndhb.gobt.nz

Clinical Co-ordinator:
Liz Hanning-Baird - liz.hanning-baird@southerndhb.govt.nz

Back to top
© Copyright 2014 New Zealand Nurses Organisation. Authorised by NZNO, 57 Willis Street, Wellington