Search Media Releases


Archives, by date


Young Nurse of the Year 2017

Media Release 20 September 2017, Embargo: 8pm - NZNO Young Nurse of the Year 2017

The 2017 Young Nurse of the Year was announced at last night’s NZNO Annual Conference dinner at Te Papa and went to Jess Tiplady, Nurse Practitioner from Auckland.  Jess Tiplady works at the Greenstone Family Clinic, Auckland.

NZNO kaiwhakahaere Kerri Nuku, presenting the award, said Jess Tiplady is of Māori descent and is currently the youngest Māori nurse to have achieved nurse practitioner status in New Zealand.

Jess Tiplady works in primary care and provides eczema and asthma clinics, which are free for children under 13 years of age.

“This year’s award winner is a great example of a nurse making a positive contribution to health outcomes for New Zealand children living in poverty,” Kerri Nuku said. 

“The impact on families living in overcrowded houses with the associated infection, itch and discomfort of eczema, loss of sleep and potential for hospitalisation is significant. Ms Tiplady has contributed to the development of a regional skin infection management programme and supports initiatives to improve child health outcomes including breast feeding and immunisation rates.

“Her work has also led to a reduction of admissions to hospital for children with respiratory and skin infections in South Auckland,” Kerri Nuku said.

The purpose and criteria for the Young Nurse of the Award is to recognise and celebrate the often exemplary work of nurses in the younger age group and to encourage younger nurses to demonstrate their commitment to the nursing profession. The nurse shows compassion or courage beyond what is expected in their role as a nurse and has improved care or health outcomes for their patients through their commitment to care, leadership, research or quality.

“I also warmly congratulate runner up Dana Smith from Dunedin Hospital general surgery. She was nominated by her colleagues for her work in the community with children with Crohns disease including volunteering at their annual camps,” Kerri Nuku said.

The judging panel consisted of: Representative from Otago University (Young Nurse of the Year Award sponsor), previous year’s award winner/s, Chief Nurse or representative, Ministry of Health NZNO President, NZNO Kaiwhakahaere.

Direct Media Enquiries To:

Please send all media requests in writing to

NZNO communications and media advisors are:

Rob Zorn
027 431 2617  |  04 494 8242

Samesh Mohanlall
021 240 3420  |  04 494 6839

Support and member enquiries: 0800 28 38 48 or