Scholarships and Grants

The Nursing Education and Research Foundation (NERF) and NZNO offer NZNO members a range of scholarships and grants. These grants are funded from various trusts including the Gretta and Harry Hamblin Trust and the McCutchan Trust. NZNO also administers a range of other NZNO local and national grants.

NERF's mission is to promote excellence in nursing and health care by providing funding opportunities for education and research. 

  • Scholarships and grants are only available to current NZNO members
  • Criteria for the McCutchan Trust Scholarships and Grant are different, please see the details below.

Important information for applicants!

You can get details of the scholarships and grants available for the next round below.


  • Only applications lodged on the latest forms will be accepted by the Assessment Committee. Applications on old forms will not be considered
  • Email your application for NERF funding to in any format before 4.00pm on the closing date
  • Late and/or incomplete applications will not be considered
  • The decision of the assessment panel committee is final and no discussion will be entered into
  • If you have previously received a grant or scholarship through NERF or NZNO, you are not eligible to apply for another until a full year has passed
  • Priority will be given to applicants who have not received a grant within the previous two years
  • This Kai Tiaki Nursing Research guest editorial by Zoë Tipa may be useful to those considering applying for scholarships and grants (PDF, 419Kb).


Contact details

Scholarships & Grants, NZ Nurses Organisation, 57 Willis Street, PO Box 2128, Wellington 6140

Phone: 0800 28 38 48


Details of Scholarships and Grants

Filter by

Air and Surface Transport Nurses Scholarship Fund

Auckland Nurses Education & Research Trust

Auckland Region Pollard Fund

Bay of Plenty/Tairawhiti Education Grant

Cancer Nurses Education Grant

Canterbury Region 'The Pop Black Memorial Scholarship' Fund

Canterbury Regional Council Education & Development Fund

Canterbury Thomas Tippet Education Awards

Central Regional Council Scholarship Fund

Child and Youth Nurses Conference Scholarship

Conference or Short Course Attendance (includes graduate/level 700 courses) - RN, RM, EN - H212.06

Debi Brook Fund - H254 (financial emergency in times of major illness)

Diabetes Nurses Professional Development Grant

Emergency Nurses Conference Grant

Emergency Nurses Education Grant

Emergency Nurses Education Grant for Postgraduate Study

Emergency Nurses Leadership Grant

Emergency Nurses Pacific Island Nurse Grant

Enrolled Nurses Section Education Fund

Gastroenterology Nursing Education/Travel Fund

Hardship Fund - NZ Nurses Memorial Fund Inc.

Innovation Fund - RN, RM, EN - H212.04

Margaret Nicholls Grant

McCutchan Trust Postgraduate Study Scholarship

McCutchan Trust Publishing Thesis or Research Paper Scholarship

McCutchan Trust Seminar Organisers Or Speakers Grant

Midlands Education Grant

Neonatal Nurse of the Year Award - Fisher & Paykel Travel Scholarship

Neonatal Nurses Professional Development Grant

Nursing Leadership Education Grant

Nursing Research Section Grant

NZNO Member Relief Fund - H255

Otago Ngaio Fulton Nurses Trust Fund

Perioperative Nurses Best article by a novice writer in The Dissector journal

Perioperative Nurses Best Clinical Practice article in The Dissector journal

Perioperative Nurses Best Quality and Innovation article in The Dissector journal

Perioperative Nurses Christina (Tina) Ackland Memorial Education Award for Services to Perioperative Nursing

Perioperative Nurses College Catherine Logan Memorial Award

Perioperative Nurses Conference Poster Competition

Perioperative Nurses Dallas Jessiman Award

Perioperative Nurses Debbie Booth Travel Award

Perioperative Nurses Education Award

Perioperative Nurses Free Paper Award

Respiratory Nurses Education Grant

Stomal Therapy Nurses Bernadette Hart Award

Stomal Therapy Nurses Liberty Stomal Therapy Nurse Education Scholarship Fund

Stomal Therapy Nurses The Liberty NZ Stomal Therapy Publishing Excellence Award

Top of the South Education Fund

Undergraduate Study Scholarship, e.g. Bachelor of Nursing, Enrolled Nurse Course - Students - H212.02

Wellington Nurses Education Trust Scholarship - H215

West Coast Education Fund

Women's Health Education Award