NZNO Conference & AGM, Leaving No One Behind - Health for All, 17-18 September 2019, Te Papa, Wellington

National Awards

2019 Young Nurse of the Year

The purpose of this award is to:

  • Recognise and celebrate the often exemplary work of nurses in the younger age group who may still be in the early stages of their careers
  • Encourage younger nurses to demonstrate their commitment to the nursing profession
  • Provide an incentive for younger nurses to remain nursing in New Zealand.

Nominations closed

Service to NZNO

This award enables NZNO to acknowledge NZNO members who have made a superior contribution to the National or Regional work of NZNO. The contribution can be made in any area of NZNO activities, at a national or regional level, such as:

  • Promotion of NZNO to nurses or outside groups
  • National or regional committee work
  • Performing additional work for a committee
  • Advancing NZNO objectives or policies,

Nominations closed

Service to Nursing/Midwifery

This award enables the profession to recognise nurses or midwives at a national level who have:

  • Made a difference to nursing or midwifery practice, and/or
  • Made a difference to the practice environment of nurses or midwives.

Nominations closed

Award of Honour

The Award of Honour is presented every two years, and enables NZNO to recognise an NZNO member who has:

  • Made a noteworthy contribution to the New Zealand Nurses Organisation professionally and / or industrially, at a workplace, local, regional and / or national level
  • Promoted the work of the New Zealand Nurses Organisation in a significant manner
  • Has had a personal, positive impact on the nursing profession in New Zealand
  • Made a substantial and innovative contribution to health care in New Zealand
  • Participated in activities at a national or international level which increases the status and public recognition of the nursing profession in New Zealand.

Nominations closed

Previous Awards

View previous award winners in the NZNO Award Register.