Back 

National NICU/SCBU Units

In this area:

National NICU/SCBU units

To update these details, please send information to Jennifer Richards at jennifer.richards@waikatodhb.health.nz

Units


Whangarei

Special Care Baby Unit (SCBU)
PO Box 742, Whangarei

Updated July 2013

  • Level 2 - 8 cots
  • Yearly admissions 360
  • Air and Road Transport Team

NICU Medical Director: Dr Ransford Addo

Clinical Nurse Manager: Lynette Te Ahu
Lynette.TeAhu@nothlanddhb.org.nz 
Ph: 09 4304 100

Associate Clinical Nurse Manager: Merophy Brown
Merophy.Brown@northlanddhb.org.nz

Clinical Nurse Educator: Brydy Wilson
Brydy.Wilson@northlanddhb.org.nz

Return to top
 

North Shore Hospital, Waitemata DHB

North Shore Newborn Special Care Unit
Private Bag 93503, Shakespeare Road, Takapuna, North Shore.

Updated October 2016

  • Level 2 - 12 cots
  • Yearly admissions 350
  • Air Transport Team

NICU Medical Advisor: Jutta van den Boom
Juttavandenboom@waitematadhb.govt.nz

Charge Nurse Manager: Karen Boyle
Karen.Boyle@waitematadhb.govt.nz

Clinical Nurse Educator: Kerryn Shaw
kerryn.shaw@waitematadhb.govt.nz  Ph: 021 243 9528

Nurse Specialist: Annette Murphy
Annette.Murphy@WaitemataDHB.govt.nz

Return to top
 

Waitakere, Waitemata DHB

Special Care Baby Unit
55 Lincoln Road, Henderson, Auckland 0610

Updated January 2017

  • 12 level II cots
  •  Yearly admissions 350

Charge Nurse Manager: Debbie Daniel
debbie.daniel@waitematadhb.govt.nz

Clinical Nurse Educator: Kerryn Shaw
Kerryn.shaw@waitematadhg.govt.nz Ph: 021 243 9528

Return to top
 

Auckland City Hospital - Starship Child Health - Auckland

Newborn Intensive Care Unit
Auckland City Hospital, 2 Park Road, Grafton, Auckland

Updated December 2016

  • Level 2 - 30 cots
  • Level 3 - 16 cots
  • 1000 annual admissions
  • 40 resourced bedspaces
  • Flight and retrieval team
  • Newborn Homecare Team
  • Palliative Care Team

NICU Medical Director: Malcolm Battin
malcolmb@adhb.govt.nz

Nurse Unit Manager: Dale Garton - 021 938 869
DGarton@adhb.govt.nz

Clinical Charge Nurses:
Jonette Abou-Rabiah, Sue McKnight, Shirley Wilson, Debbie Eade, Robin Gardner, Angela Warren
021 874 779

Equipment portfolio: Sue McKnight

Transport Coordinator: Shirley Wilson

Nursing Educators:
Victoria Barnao - 021 245 3645
Roslyn Gasparini - 021 245 2372

Nurse Specialist - Lactation: Lynley Nichols - 021 475 059 Sarah Wild - 021 814 135

Nurse Specialist Family Liaison:
Adele Jay - 021 245 5615
Rosina Ho - 021 245 3626

Nurse Specialist, Neonatal Homecare:
Marion Jones - 021 492 167
Robin Wilkinson/Wendy Brown - 021 492 168

Nurse Specialist - Advanced Neonatal Practice:
Sharon Ellis, Megan Ashton, Jodie Daculan, Julie Dick, Michelle Hatton, Leigh McCarthy, Dana Lui, Kate Jones
Contact via NICU reception 24920

Return to top
 

Middlemore Hospital Neonatal Unit, Counties Manukau District Health Board

Kidz First Neonatal Care
Private Bag 93311, Otahuhu, Auckland

Updated September 2015

  • 12-14, level 3 cots
  • 14-16, level 2 cots

NICU Medical Director: Lindsay Mildenhall 
LindsayM@middlemore.co.nz

Nurse Manager: Niccy Brougham
niccy.brougham@cmdhb.org.nz 

Nurse Educator: Julie I'Anson
Julie.IAnson@middlemore.co.nz

Return to top
 

Waikato Hospital, Waikato DHB

Waikids Newborn Intensive Care Unit
Pembroke Street, Private Bag, Hamilton

Updated January 2017

  • Level 1 - 12 cots
  • Level 2 - 12 cots
  • Level 3 - 17
  • 800-1000 Yearly admissions
  • 41 Resourced bedspaces

NICU Medical Director: David Bourchier
BourchiD@waikatodhb.govt.nz

Charge Nurse Manager: Christine Woolerton - 021 549 708
Christine.Woolerton@waikatodhb.health.nz

Associate Charge Nurses Managers contact:
Level 3 mobile - 021 240 8955
Level 1 & 2 mobile - 021 701 634

Nursing Educators: 
Leanne Baker - 021 759 542
Leanne.Baker@waikatodhb.health.nz
Joan O'Sullivan - 021 243 7704
Joan.OSullivan@waikatodhb.health.nz

Transport Coordinator: Jenny Richards
Jennifer.Richards@waikatodhb.health.nz

Lactation Consultant: Robyn Hillls - 021 242 8719
Robyn.Hills@waikatodhb.health.nz

Eqiupment Nurse/Technician: Mike Haultain - 021 227 3951
Michael.Haultain@waikatodhb.health.nz

Discharge Facilitator: Melanie Trethowen - 021 910 594
melanie.trethowen@waikatodhb.health.nz 

Homecare CNS: Tracey Thompson and Cathy Dollimore - 021 929 896
Tracey.Thompson@waikatodhb.health.nz
Catherine.Dollimore@waikatodhb.health.nz

Return to top
 

Tauranga Hospital

Special Care Baby Unit (SCBU)
Bay of Plenty District Health Board, Cameron Road, Tauranga

Updated July 2013

  • Level 2 - 12 cots
  • 430 Yearly admissions
  • 12 resourced bedspaces
  • Neonatal Homecare Nurse

NICU Medical Director: Hugh Lees
Hugh.Lees@bopdhb.govt.nz

Clinical Nurse Coordinator: Marion Wordsworth
Marian.wordsworth@bopdhb.govt.nz

Return to top
 

Rotorua Hospital

Special Care Baby Unit
Lakes District Health Board, Private Bag 3023, Rotorua

Updated September 2015

  • Level 2 - 8 cots
  • 250 Yearly admissions
  • 10 Resourced bedspaces

NICU Medical Directors: Stephen Bradley
stephen.bradley@lakesdhb.govt.nz

Charge Nurse Manager: Nancy Littler
Nancy.littler@lakesdhb.govt.nz

Charge Nurse Manager: Jacquie Koberstein
Jacquie.koberstein@lakesdhb.govt.nz

Lactation Consultant: Sue Pace
sue.pace@lakesdhb.govt.nz

Return to top
 

Whakatane

Special Care Baby Unit
Stewart Street, Whakatane

Updated September 2015

  • 4 level II cots

NICU Medical Director: John Malcolm
John.Malcolm@bopdhb.govt.nz

Maggie Sadlier
Maggie.Sadlier@BOPDHB.govt.nz

Return to top
 

Gisborne Hospital

Neonatal Unit
Tairawhiti District Health, 421 Ormond Road, Private Bag 7001, Gisborne

Updated September 2015

  • Level 2 - 6 cots
  • 170-180 annual admissions
  • 6 Resourced bedspaces

NICU Medical Director: Shaun Grant
Shaun.Grant@tdh.org.nz

Charge Nurse Manager: Barbara Reid
Barbara.Reid@tdh.org.nz

Return to top
 

Hawkes Bay Hospital

Special Care Baby Unit
Hawkes Bay Health Care, Private Bag 9014, Hastings

Updated September 2015

  • Level 2 - 10 cots
  • Level 3 - 2 cots
  • 340 Annual admissions
  • 12 Resourced bedspaces

NICU Medical Director: Oliver Grupp
Oliver.Grupp@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz

Charge Nurse Manager: Michelle Robertson
Michelle.robertson@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz

Nursing Educators: Dianne O'Connor
Dianne.oconnor@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz

Return to top
 

Taranaki Base Hospital

Neonatal Unit
Taranaki Base Hospital, Private Bag 2016, New Plymouth

Updated January 2017

  • Level 2 - 4 cots
  • Level 3 - 2 cots
  • 300 Annual Admissions

NICU Medical Director: John Doran
John.Doran@tdhb.org.nz

Nurse Manager: Jane Bocock
Jane.bocock@tdhb.org.nz

Homecare and Lactation Consultant: Cheryl Sole

Return to top
 

Palmerston North Hospital, Mid-Central Health

Neonatal Unit 
Private Bag 11036, Palmerston North

Updated September 2015

  • Level 2 - 12 cots
  • Level 3 - 14 cots
  • 14 Resourced bedspaces
  • 480 Yearly admissions
  • Homecare

NICU Medical Director: Jeff Brown
jeff.brown@midcentral.co.nz

Charge Nurse Manager: Paula Spargo
paula.spargo@midcentraldhb.govt.nz

Nursing Educator: Gillian Allen
gillian.allen@midcentraldhb.govt.nz

Lactation Consultant: Margaret Fisher

Return to top
 

Wanganui Base Hospital, Wanganui District Health Board

Special Care Baby Unit
Wanganui District Health Board, Heads Road, Private Bag, Wanganui

Updated May 2010

  • 4 level II cots
  • Yearly admissions 150

NICU Medical Director: David Montgomery
david@millipaed.co.nz

Clinical Nurse Manager: Janene Louwrens
Janene.louwrens@wdhb.org.nz

Return to top
 

Wairarapa Hospital

Special Care Baby Unit
96 Te Ore Ore Rd, PO Box 96, Masterton

Updated July 2013

  • Level 1 - 3 cots, up to level 2
  • 2 Resourced bedspaces
  • Homecare support    

Charge Nurse Manager: Tess Geard
Tess.geard@wairarapa.dhb.org.nz

Lactation Consultant: Yvonne Stuart

Return to top
 

Wellington Hospital

Neonatal Unit
Capital Coast DHB, Private Bag 7902, Wellington South

Updated September 2015

  • Level 3, 18 cots
  • Level 2, 22 cots
  • Air Transport Team
  • Homecare team
  • Specialty Practice Nursing program
  • Post Grad. Cert – NN VU
  • Career Pathway Available

NICU Medical Director: Vaughan Richardson
Vaughan.Richardson@ccdhb.org.nz

Neonatal Unit Team Leader: Rosemary Escott
Rosemary.escott@ccdhb.org.nz

Associate Charge Nurse Managers
Deborah Davenport; Cheryl Wilkie; Cynthia Evans; Julie Kyle; Sandra Worthington; Evelyn Mahapure; Claire Goodger
Email contact: firstname.surname@ccdhb.org.nz
Phone: 04 806 0802

Neonatal Nurse Practitioner/Specialists
Darcy Stott; Fiona Dineen; Karen Bennington; Paula Dellabarca, Janet Brown
Email contact: firstname.surname@ccdhb.org.nz

Clinical Nurse Specialists
Marilyn Gibson; Jackie Chin-Poy
Email contact: firstname.surname@ccdhb.org.nz

Nursing Educators
Wilma Tielemans (Senior); Sandra Bryant (Level 3); Susanna Clark (new staff and students)Jenny Gower (Technology); Maggie Morgan (Lactation)
Email Contact: firstname.surname@ccdhb.org.nz

Transport Coordinator: Sarah Cody
Sarah.cody@ccdhb.org.nz

Lactation Consultant: Maggie Morgan
Maggie.morgan@ccdhb.org.nz

Home Care Team
Tisha Klein; Carole Dunn; Verree Henderson; Helsa Fairless
Email contact: firstname.surname@ccdhb.org.nz

Return to top
 

Hutt Valley Health Corporation Ltd

Special Care Baby Unit
Hutt Valley Health, High Street, Private Bag 31907, Lower Hutt

Updated September 2015

  • 12 level II cots
  • 450 yearly admissions
  • Homecare team

NICU Medical Director: Sarah Mills
Sarah.Mills@huttvalleydhb.org.nz 

Charge Nurse Manager: Sagni Prasad
Sagni.Prasad@huttvalleydhb.org.nz

Associate Clinical Nurse Manager
Donna.Mita@huttvalleydhb.org.nz

Nurse Educator: Jenny Stott
Jenny.Stott@huttvalleydhb.org.nz

Return to top
 

Nelson Hospital

SCBU
Nelson/Marlborough Health, Private Bag 18, Nelson

Updated September 2015

  • Level 2 - 10 cots
  • 180 yearly admissions
  • 8 resourced bedspaces
  • Homecare nurse

NICU Medical Director: Peter McIlroy
Peter.McIlroy@nmhs.govt.nz

Charge Nurse Manager: Maureen Higgs
Maureen.higgs@nmhs.govt.nz

Associate Charge Nurse Managers, Jan Kirk
jan.kirk@nmhs.govt.nz

Lactation Consultant: Debra Hardcastle

Return to top
 

Grey Base Hospital

McBrearty Ward
Coast Health Care, Greymouth, West Coast

Updated May 2010

  • 2 level I cots
  • combined with Maternity Care (and providing support to Westport Hospital)

Nurse Manager: Jude Bruce

Return to top
 

Christchurch Women’s Hospital, Canterbury DHB

Neonatal Intensive Care Unit 
Women’s and Children’s Health Division Private Bag 4711, Christchurch

Updated August 2013

  • 10 level 3 cots
  • 28 level 1 & 2 cots
  • Yearly admissions 800
  • Nursing Outreach Service
  • Air and land retrieval team

NICU Medical Director: Nicola Austin
Nicola.Austin@cdhb.govt.nz

Neonatal Nurse Manager: Debbie O’Donoghue
Debbie.ODonoghue@cdhb.health.nz

Neonatal Nurse Educator: Edna Byron
edna.byron2@cdhb.govt.nz

Clinical Nurse Specialist: Gina Beecroft
gina.beecroft@cdhb.govt.nz

Associate Clinical Nursing Managers
ACNMneonatal@cdhb.health.nz
Clinical nurse specialist (advanced neonatal practice)
Clinical nurse specialist neonatal infant feeding

Transport Coordinator: Sue Moore
sue.moore@cdhb.govt.nz

Return to top
 

Timaru Hospital, South Canterbury District Health Board

Private Bag 911, Timaru

Updated September 2015

  • 2 level II cots 
  • Yearly admissions 60

NICU Medical Director: Philip Morrison
philmo@timhosp.co.nz

Nurse Manager; Mark Liddy
paed@timhosp.co.nz

Return to top
 

Dunedin Hospital, Southern District Health Board

Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
Private Bag 1921, 201 Great King Street, Dunedin
Office:  03 474 0999 ext 8730

Updated September 2015

  • Level 2 - 11 cots
  • Level 3 - 5 cots
  • Approx 300 annual admissions
  • 16 resourced bedspaces
  • Air/Road Retrieval and Transfer Transport team

NICU Medical Director: Roland Broadbent
roland.broadbent@otago.ac.nz

Charge Nurse Manager: Juliet Manning
juliet.manning@southerndhb.govt.nz

Associate Charge Nurse Managers:
Mary Fahey:  mary.fahey@southerndhb.govt.nz
Karen Thomson:  karen.thomson@southerndhb.govt.nz
Jo Dobson:  jo.dobson@southerndhb.govt.nz

Nurse Educator: Lisa Christenson
lisa.christenson@southerndhb.govt.nz

Transport Coordinator: Jo Dobson
jo.dobson@southerndhb.govt.nz

Lactation Consultant:  Donna Dalziel
donna.dalziel@southerndhb.govt.nz

Equipment Nurse:  Annie Marshall
annie.marshall@southerndhb.govt.nz

Discharge Facilitators:
Rose Bryant: rose.bryant@southerndhb.govt.nz
Cathy Phillips: cathy.phillips@southerndhb.govt.nz
 

Return to top
 

Southland Hospital

Neonatal Unit
Southern Health, PO Box 828, Invercargill

Updated September 2015

  • 5 level II cots

NICU Medical Director: Ian Shaw
ian.shaw@southerndhb.gobt.nz

Clinical Co-ordinator: Liz Hanning-Baird
Elizabeth.Hanning-Baird@southerndhb.govt.nz
 

Return to top

© Copyright 2014 New Zealand Nurses Organisation. Authorised by NZNO, 57 Willis Street, Wellington